Skip to content

How Hard is Your Heart?

June 8, 2011
Post by Michael Ellerbeck

Alma 12

1 – Alma began to establish the words of Amulek,
to explain things beyond,
and unfold the scriptures.
What a talent and gift it is establish someone’s words, to expound and unfold the scriptures.

2 – the words Alma spake… were heard by the people round about… the multitude was great
Not only expound but apparently speak loud enough for a multitude to hear!

3 – he (God) knows all their thoughts,… thy thoughts are made known unto us by his Spirit.
With the spirit someone’s thoughts can be made known to us.
(Verse 8 power was given unto them that they might know of these things according to the spirit of prophecy.)

4,5,6 The very subtle plan of the devil is to make us want to cast out and revile those who would teach us.
If we do that, we will be encircled about by chains and brought down to everlasting destruction.

10
It is all decided in the heart.
Harden the heart, and a lesser portion of the word will be received.
Don’t harden your heart, a greater portion of the word will be received until you know the mysteries of God in full.
Continue hardening you heart, and you will soon know nothing concerning the mysteries of God.

14
Has my heart been hardened?
Do my words condemn me?
Do my works condemn me?
Do my thoughts condemn me?
Could I, right now, dare to look up to our God?
Or would I prefer the rocks and mountains to fall upon me and hide me from his presence?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 8:35 am

    Michael, this was really interesting to read. I like the introspective nature of your notes. It makes me want to try a different approach to my scripture journal.

  2. rex permalink*
    June 11, 2011 10:57 pm

    Your comments are like poetry, Michael.

    They made me think deeper.

    Thanks.

Leave a comment